Board index DeFRaG Competitions DFWC 2017

SDL lag

SDL lag

Postby esc?nebuLa » Nov 2nd, '17, 9:27 am

I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing slight input and audio lag with SDL.dll. Engines without SDL (idfe.exe or dfengine for example) perform as expected. I'm unsure what causes this. Tried tweaking a few of the s_* commands to no avail. Any help please?
https://www.facebook.com/TeamEventHorizon
#tricking_eh on irc.quakenet.org
User avatar
esc?nebuLa
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Nov 15th, '09, 2:02 pm
Location: USA

Re: SDL lag

Postby XPC32 » Nov 2nd, '17, 6:43 pm

Try:
Code: Select all
in_mouse 3
s_useOpenAL 1
snd_restart
in_restart


edit: might be 's_useOpenAL 0', dunno try both and see which one works
bewarned ! i am a noob !
XPC32
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 22nd, '14, 9:25 pm

Re: SDL lag

Postby nLxajA » Nov 2nd, '17, 9:45 pm

Put OpenAL.dll from this post to your Quake 3 directory and try settings:
Code: Select all
seta s_useOpenAL "1"
seta s_mixahead "0.05"
seta s_mixPreStep "0"
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Clean Quake3 (1.32c) with installed defrag 1.91.25 & dfengine 1.08 + distributives windows/linux versions ioquake3, iodfengine, dfengine and defrag included ("xFiles" folder): cloud.mail.ru | yandex.disk.ru.
All defrag maps repack! <- very useful! Highly recommended!
User avatar
nLxajA
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Oct 18th, '09, 10:12 pm
Location: Russia, Voronezh

Re: SDL lag

Postby esc?nebuLa » Nov 3rd, '17, 4:13 am

Thanks xaja! Will test it.

EDIT: I tried the commands and it helps a little, but there's still issues with doppler, plasma, etc. Overall, I just don't like the way SDL sounds and makes the game feel. :/ My checkpoints are slower because of it. There should be zero lag with quad core cpu and gtx 750, yet I feel lag... :violin: Don't mind me playing my violin. lol
https://www.facebook.com/TeamEventHorizon
#tricking_eh on irc.quakenet.org
User avatar
esc?nebuLa
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Nov 15th, '09, 2:02 pm
Location: USA

Re: SDL lag

Postby BerserK » Nov 3rd, '17, 5:01 pm

praise the savior Xaja. Helped a lot, ...but iodf is still bad.
"Everyone cares about allowed scripts and huds, lol, care about skills." © P.J.RiPPeR
User avatar
BerserK
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Nov 3rd, '09, 3:02 pm

Re: SDL lag

Postby SenT!neL » Nov 3rd, '17, 9:36 pm

I have the same issues with doppler and plasma sounds. Strange :think:
SenT!neL
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Jun 3rd, '10, 4:40 pm

Re: SDL lag

Postby /cdtu/xas » Nov 4th, '17, 9:54 am

i had doppler issues too and s_useOpenAL 0 solved my problem
/cdtu/xas
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Apr 3rd, '10, 11:30 am

Re: SDL lag

Postby [+--..] » Nov 4th, '17, 10:25 am

/cdtu/xas wrote:i had doppler issues too and s_useOpenAL 0 solved my problem


I did same, works much better to me.

but can only play using in_mouse 1 and my sens is totally different to idfe.... in_mouse 3 feels somehow delayed and acceled o.O

however, gettin used to it.... :)))
[+--..]
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Nov 26th, '16, 10:10 pm

Re: SDL lag

Postby XPC32 » Nov 4th, '17, 4:26 pm

Another reason you might have a bit of mouse weirdness is due to dpi scaling in windows. In that case you can try right click the exe -> properties -> compatibility -> check "Override high DPI scaling behavior."

Image

(also use in_mouse 3)
bewarned ! i am a noob !
XPC32
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 22nd, '14, 9:25 pm

Postby dUDAK_mURAK » Nov 4th, '17, 5:56 pm

.
Last edited by dUDAK_mURAK on Feb 1st, '18, 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
dUDAK_mURAK
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 19th, '17, 7:47 pm

Next

cron