Board index DeFRaG Mapping

Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Maps and the process of creating them

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby Le another black niger » Dec 6th, '15, 6:04 pm

Thanks for kind words ;)
Finally got wanted rectangle behavior (was visually updating with one step delay)
Reuploaded
Damn thing took time, according to worth of things, it repairs
Le another black niger
 
Posts: 392
Joined: May 17th, '11, 5:08 pm

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby xlarve » Dec 10th, '15, 11:33 am

viele dank fur update!
xlarve
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 30th, '12, 9:45 pm

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby xlarve » Dec 10th, '15, 7:28 pm

какой выбор тем! Супер!
xlarve
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 30th, '12, 9:45 pm

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby TittenIgnition » Feb 11th, '16, 1:52 am

What is it that causes my 50-megabyte .obj models to crash Radiant? Is it something deeply ingrained in the code, or is it something that could be worked on? It taking forever to load is one thing, but I don't like that it crashes after 10 minutes of waiting. I need my damn massive models!
wtf i have a signature?
User avatar
TittenIgnition
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Jun 4th, '10, 1:24 am
Location: QuakeNet

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby Le another black niger » Feb 11th, '16, 6:30 pm

How do i know, what happens there?
You can share a model, so i could give it a try.
The guess is 'out of memory'.
Not likely to get it solidified ingame tho.
Best experience was .3ds 250k polys terrain model, loading in a second in editor;
Solid .bsp was ~100mb and game required >1Gb of meme to load it.
Le another black niger
 
Posts: 392
Joined: May 17th, '11, 5:08 pm

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby sL1k » Feb 11th, '16, 6:46 pm

Le another black niger wrote:How do i know, what happens there?
You can share a model, so i could give it a try.
The guess is 'out of memory'.
Not likely to get it solidified ingame tho.
Best experience was .3ds 250k polys terrain model, loading in a second in editor;
Solid .bsp was ~100mb and game required >1Gb of meme to load it.


its quake, keep it simple :O
User avatar
sL1k
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Apr 22nd, '14, 11:09 am
Location: trve-town DE

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby TittenIgnition » Feb 12th, '16, 6:50 pm

I ended up splitting the model into 8 chunks, and it loads into Radiant but Q3Map2 says too many brushes. Sadly I don't have my modified Q3Map2 with increased limitations, otherwise I'd test it further...
wtf i have a signature?
User avatar
TittenIgnition
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Jun 4th, '10, 1:24 am
Location: QuakeNet

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby Le another black niger » Feb 17th, '16, 8:03 am

TittenIgnition wrote:Q3Map2 says too many brushes.

Wash your mouth, young man. Brush limit is eliminated in netradiant's q3map2.
Le another black niger
 
Posts: 392
Joined: May 17th, '11, 5:08 pm

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby TittenIgnition » Feb 17th, '16, 3:59 pm

Le another black niger wrote:
TittenIgnition wrote:Q3Map2 says too many brushes.

Wash your mouth, young man. Brush limit is eliminated in netradiant's q3map2.

Right, it doesn't support enough RAM, so I had to use the one packed with GtkRadiant, which has a limit of 65536 brushes. Also I had to create all the entities in Notepad because all Radiants crash when I try to load so much crap.

Code: Select all
"D:\GtkRadiant\x64\q3map2.exe" -fs_basepath "C:\Quake III Arena" -fs_game "defrag" -bsp -meta -patchmeta -verboseentities -v "C:\Quake III Arena\defrag\maps\test4.map"
2.5.17
4 threads
Q3Map         - v1.0r (c) 1999 Id Software Inc.
Q3Map (ydnar) - v2.5.17
GtkRadiant    - v1.6.5 Dec 24 2015 22:18:26
We're still here
...
--- AddTriangleModels ---
WARNING: MAX_MAP_PLANES (1048576) hit generating clip brushes for model models/minetest/ex3.obj.
--- AddEntitySurfaceModels ---
************ ERROR ************
MAX_MAP_BRUSHES (65536)

C:\Quake III Arena>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
wtf i have a signature?
User avatar
TittenIgnition
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Jun 4th, '10, 1:24 am
Location: QuakeNet

Re: Custom radiant + noOb compiler

Postby Le another black niger » Feb 17th, '16, 5:22 pm

Is cleaner.
I can compile 64bit q3map2 (need to compile custom xmllib b4, so that app wasn't crashing with batch + multithreading)
Or try these ones:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kur008w5qlsvx ... bg.7z?dl=1
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vq9frzhpnxghb ... se.7z?dl=1
(i think -bsp has no multithreaded parts)

As for model, you can use scissored placeholder version with only parts, needed to place entities, and then replace it before compiling.
Also can provide data about crash (radiant.log, os report on that, peak ram allocation size). Might be repairable -)
Le another black niger
 
Posts: 392
Joined: May 17th, '11, 5:08 pm

PreviousNext

cron